CSLA Scholarship In Different Countries 2022-23

Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) applications are no longer being accepted. We will go over the details of this scholarship programme, its benefits, and the application process in this article.

Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA)

International students can apply for the Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) 2022-2023, which are fully funded masters scholarships. CSLA Scholarships from the Open Society Foundations will give a monthly stipend for room, board, and other living expenses, as well as tuition and necessary university fees, accident and illness insurance, and housing during the programme.

Related Scholarships:

    International students from certain countries (see list below) can apply for the Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) to pursue master’s degrees at educational institutions in Germany, France, Hong Kong, Latvia, Hungary, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Poland, and the United States.

    Fully-Funded Civil Society Leadership International Awards

    The Open Society Foundations have funded more than 20,000 CSLA scholarships for young people to study in the US and Europe, especially at Central European University, since the 1980s. These awards are fully funded and given to students who have demonstrated academic and professional excellence as well as a strong desire to make a difference in their communities.

    CSLA Scholarship Summary

    • Level of Study: Masters
    • Institution(s): CSLA Host University Guide
    • Study in: Germany, France, Hong Kong, Latvia, Hungary, Netherlands, UK, Ireland, Poland, and United States
    • Opportunity Focus Areas: See list below
    • Program Period: 2 Years
    • Deadline: May 15, annually (Note: Closed till spring 2022)
    Civil Society Leadership Awards

    Courses Offered:

    • Culture, History & Society
    • Communications, Journalism & Media
    • Development Studies
    • Education Management & Leadership
    • Economics
    • Environment & Natural Resource Management
    • Gender Studies
    • Law (including Human Rights law)
    • Human Rights
    • Politics & International Studies
    • Public Policy & Administration
    • Public Health Policy & Health Management
    • Social Work & Social Policy

    Following are some of the programs that can be funded by CSLA scholarship:

    • Violence, Conflict and Development (MSc) at SOAS University of London
    • Conflict Prevention and Peacebuilding (MSc) at Durham University
    • Globalization and Development Studies (MA) at Maastricht University
    • Sustainable International Development (MA) at Brandeis University
    • International Development Policy (MA/PgCert) at Duke University
    • Global Citizenship, Identities and Human Rights (MA/PGDip) at University of Nottingham

    CSLA Scholarship Coverage

    Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) provide the recipient with the following benefits:

    • Monthly stipend for room, board, and other living expenses
    • Pre-academic preparation via summer schools
    • Tuition and mandatory university fees
    • Accident and sickness insurance during the program
    • Program-related travel
    • Funds for educational materials and professional development
    • Accommodations during the application process and the duration of the grant for applicants with disabilities.
    • Attendance at a regional Scholarship Programs conference

    Eligibility Criteria for Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA)

    To qualify for Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) Scholarship, candidate must fulfill all of the following requirements below:

    • Required Language: English
    • Eligible Countries: Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Cambodia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Laos, Libya, Myanmar/Burma, Republic of Congo, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.
    • Have an earned bachelor’s degree as of May 15, 2021 with an excellent academic record;
    • Demonstrate maturity, flexibility, and civil society leadership potential
    • Demonstrate professional experience related to your chosen field of study;
    • Be able to participate in an intensive pre-academic summer school in July or August 2021 and start their degree program in August or September 2021;
    • Demonstrate proficiency in the language of instruction (English, German or French) at a level required for admission by host universities;
    • Be able to receive and maintain a visa or study permit as required by the host country; and
      demonstrate a clear commitment to their home country or region to strengthen open society development.

    How to Apply for Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA)?

    Please visit official website link given at the end. However, here are important instructions to avail Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA):

    • Submit a Scholarship Application directly to the Open Society Foundations  before deadline.
    • Submit an online postgraduate application for an eligible program at the university of your choice. You can check the  CSLA Host Universities here. Please note that your scholarship application will not be considered unless you have also submitted an academic application to selected university.

    Apply Now

    To know more about Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) 2022, please visit official website.