Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program 2024 (Fully Funded)

Great news! The latest Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program 2024 is now accepting applications. In this article, we will delve into the details of this scholarship program, its benefits, and the step-by-step application process. The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship is a fully funded master’s degree scholarship open to international students.

This scholarship program encompasses full tuition, living expenses, return airfare, arrival expenses, and a research grant. The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program offers a unique opportunity to experience a new nation and culture, broaden one’s perspectives, and build a global network that will last a lifetime for students dedicated to making a positive impact in their communities.

The QECS does not impose an application fee, and Commonwealth Scholars play a crucial role in driving positive change and finding solutions. There is a wide array of academic fields to choose from, and the scholarship is available to students from Commonwealth countries with low and middle incomes. Citizens of Commonwealth countries are eligible to apply for this scholarship.

It’s important to note that the current hosts of the QECS awards are listed on the website. If a country or university is not listed on the website, it is not a host for the current awards cycle. This may be related to the scheduling of the application season; for instance, some universities may start their academic year in January/February, making them part of the second cycle of awards. Please stay tuned to the website for more information about the institutions and countries participating in the second application cycle.

Get Latest Scholarships

Also check: University of Oxford Clarendon Scholarships 2024 UK (Fully Funded)

Interesting Facts About The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program

The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is an international initiative where Commonwealth member states grant scholarships and fellowships to citizens from other Commonwealth countries. Sidney Earle Smith, a Canadian leader, proposed the plan in a speech in Montreal on September 1, 1958, and it was established in 1959 at the first Conference of Commonwealth Education Ministers (CCEM) in Oxford, United Kingdom. Over twenty countries have awarded prizes to nearly 25,000 individuals since its inception. The CSFP serves as a key mechanism for pan-Commonwealth exchange.

The CSFP operates without a central body and relies on bilateral agreements between home and host countries. Each country’s involvement is coordinated by a national nominating agency responsible for publicizing awards and submitting nominations to host countries. The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program Commission in Britain manages this process as a non-departmental public agency, funded by the Department for International Development in the United Kingdom, which is the largest contributor to the Plan.

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program
Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office has not provided financial contributions since 2008, leading to reduced scholarships for students from more developed Commonwealth countries in the UK. The recent changes strategically align scholarships with the common interests of Commonwealth members in business and innovation. The re-establishment of the Royal Commonwealth Society of Singapore by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II in October 2014 announced new Commonwealth Scholarships and Fellowships in Innovation for Singaporeans during President Tony Tan’s state visit to the United Kingdom. The first Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship for Innovation were awarded to The Rt. Hon. Joshua Cheong and Dr. Khoo Hsien Hui in August 2017. Hon. Sajid Javid is a British politician.

Scholarship Highlights

  • Study Level: Masters
  • Host Countries: Bangladesh, Eswatini, Ghana, Kenya, India, Malaysia, Mauritius, Pakistan, Rwanda, Tanzania, Jamaica, Barbados, Trinidad, Tobago, Uganda (For Further Details check link Here).
  • Program Period: 2 years
  • Application Deadline:
    • Cycle 1 opens in November / December (Annual).
    • Cycle 2 opens in March / April (Annual).

Also check: University of Tokyo Scholarship 2024 Japan (Fully Funded)

Host Universities for Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program

  • University of Dhaka
  • University of Eswatini
  • Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, (KNUST), Kumasi, Ghana
  • The University of the West Indies
  • Technical University of Kenya
  • University of Nairobi
  • Universiti Malaya
  • Universiti Putra Malaysia
  • University of Mauritius
  • COMSATS University Islamabad
  • University of Rwanda
  • The State University of Zanzibar

Scholarship Benefits

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship provides the recipient with the following benefits:

  • The full tuition fee waiver will be provided.
  • A scholar will be receiving living expenses.
  • Return tickets will be provided.
  • An arrival allowance will also be provided.
  • A research grant will be provided.

Also check: Charles Darwin University Scholarships 2024 Australia (CDU Scholarship)

Eligibility for the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program

To be eligible for Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • For Required Language: Check your selected country and University requirements.
  • Eligible Countries: Citizen of a commonwealth country check the link Here.
  • A candidate must have a bachelor’s degree.
  • There is no upper age limit.
  • A candidate must be aware that he or she is going to study in a lower or middle-income country.

Also check: Hamad Bin Khalifa University Scholarships 2024 Qatar (Fully Funded)

How to Apply for the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program?

Please visit official website link given at the end. However, here are important steps to avail Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship:

  1. An applicant can only apply for the university that is mentioned in the list on the official website.
  2. No host university will be entertaining the participant in the UK, Canada, or Australia.
  3. There are two cycles for applying each year, a candidate needs to look into the country/university that would determine in which cycle he should apply.
  4. An applicant can apply to more than one university or country.
  5. After the acknowledgment of the above information, a candidate can apply via the official website along with the required documents and correct information.

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program FAQs

What are the benefits of the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program?

The full waiver of tuition fees will be given.
Living expenses will be provided for a scholar.
There will be return tickets available.
There will also be an allowance for arrival.
There will be a research grant offered.

How much award is there for receiving the Queen Elizabeth scholarship?

The Queen Elizabeth II Scholarship awards $20,000 to graduate and post-graduate students studying Saskatchewan politics and government at a recognized Saskatchewan university.

What are the name of eligible countries for Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program?

The names of eligible hosted countries are Bangladesh, Eswatini, Ghana, Kenya, Malaysia, Mauritius, Pakistan, Rwanda, Tanzania, Jamaica, Barbados, Trinidad & Tobago, Uganda.

Get Latest Scholarships


    Find Perfect Scholarship

    Connect with us